Things I Should’ve Posted Long Ago

Introduction

I’d originally planned to do some photos of artistically arranged (or as close an approximation as I can make) glassware. Sadly, that fell though as I realised that: a) I don’t have enough dark material for the backdrop I wanted, and; b) my nice glassware is sitting in the write up room, which I didn’t feel like visiting on a dank Sunday afternoon.

Fortunately, I have a terrible habit of failing to post a number of my photos, purely because they don’t fit into one of the themes on my blogging plan. Since this week’s row on my plan had a tragic accident involving the “delete” key, allow me to present six photos that I should’ve posted long ago.

Early Morning Drive

Back Beach, Port Chlamers, shortly after golden hour. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 17 mm f/2.8. 1/320 s, f/5.6, ISO 200.
Back Beach, Port Chlamers, shortly after golden hour. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 17 mm f/2.8. 1/320 s, f/5.6, ISO 200.

Early Morning Stroll

Jessie Street, Te Aro, Wellington. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 14-42 mm II R. 1/20 s, f/3.7, ISO 3200.
6:45 AM, Jessie Street, Te Aro, Wellington. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 14-42 mm f/3.5-5.6 II R. 1/20 s, f/3.7, ISO 3200.

The View From a Wedding

Karitane at sunset. Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Panasonic-Leica 25 mm f/1.4. 1/8 s, f/5.6, ISO 100.
Karitane at sunset. Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Panasonic-Leica 25 mm f/1.4. 1/8 s, f/5.6, ISO 100.

Sauntering in a Sprinkling of Snow

Early afternoon sunlight filters through a skeletal row of trees, picking out dustings of snow at the Dunedin Botanical Gardens. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 17 mm f/2.8. 1/200 s, f/5.6, ISO 200.
Early afternoon sunlight filters through a skeletal row of trees, picking out dustings of snow at the Dunedin Botanical Gardens. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 17 mm f/2.8. 1/200 s, f/5.6, ISO 200.

Early Morning Break

The sun rises over the clock tower at the University of Otago, picking out some of the construction material in the flood protection works. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 17 mm f/2.8. 1/30 s, f/4, ISO 400.
The sun rises over the clock tower at the University of Otago, picking out some of the construction material in the flood protection works. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1 with Olympus 17 mm f/2.8. 1/30 s, f/4, ISO 400.

Mid-Afternoon Ramble

The sun lowering in the sky behind the early winter splendour of maple foliage. Olympus Om-D E-M5 with Olympus 12-40 mm f/2.8. 1/80 s, f/8, ISO 100.
The sun lowering in the sky behind the early winter splendour of maple foliage. Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Olympus 12-40 mm f/2.8. 1/80 s, f/8, ISO 100.

Conclusion

Thanks to the “delete” key, and my habit of not posting things that don’t fall into themes for posts set months in advance, I’ve been able to post a set of photos that should’ve been posted a good while ago, even though they didn’t appear anywhere in my annual plan.

In short: this week, I’m glad I had the contingency plan to press into service.

 

Leave a Reply

