Springtime Strolls: Part 1

Vibrant blooms and vivid green foliage surround a park bench in the Upper Botanical Gardens, Dunedin. Olympus Om-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/160s, f/2.8, ISO200.
Vibrant blooms and vivid green foliage surround a park bench in the Upper Botanical Gardens, Dunedin. Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/160 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.

A few weeks ago, I was a little ahead of schedule with writing up. It’s mid-spring at the moment (unless you’re in the other hemisphere, in which case it isn’t), and having missed the early spring blooms this year, I was adamant I wouldn’t miss the rest of the season. With my Billingham bulging under the strain of papers, laptop and camera gear, I strolled around the Dunedin Botanical Gardens, and cut back through Woodhaugh Gardens, to see what I could come up with. To make sure you don’t miss spring either, I’m going to be posting nothing but spring photos for the next four weeks (including this week). To make sure you don’t get bored (and I don’t go doolally), I’m even going to try and write concise captions for a change!

That’s me for this week. Please enjoy the following photographs (as well as the one at the top of the page).

I small purple flower I never wrote down the name of. The purple haze is the result of shooting through several others of its ilk with a dinky depth of field. Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/160 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.
I small purple flower I never wrote down the name of. The purple haze is the result of shooting through several others of its ilk with a dinky depth of field. Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/160 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.
Recently emerged maple leaves, set against a backdrop of older, redder maple leaves. Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/320 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.
Recently emerged maple leaves, set against a backdrop of older, redder maple leaves. Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/320 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.
A variety of smaller, ground level flowers. About the only thing I can positively identify is the bluebells (and given a microscope, the bacteria present, too). Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/80 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.
A variety of smaller, ground level flowers. About the only thing I can positively identify is the bluebells (given a microscope, I could identify the bacteria present, too). Olympus OM-D E-M5, Olympus 60mm Macro. 1/80 s, f/2.8, ISO 200.
Looking down the Water of Leith, just before getting into Woodhaugh Gardens. Olympus PEn Mini E-PM1, Olympus 17mm f/2.8. 1/80 s, f/5.6, ISO 200.
Looking down the Water of Leith from George Street, just before getting into the Woodhaugh Gardens. Olympus PEN Mini E-PM1, Olympus 17mm f/2.8. 1/80 s, f/5.6, ISO 200.
Leave a Reply

